For 119 years, M. J. Reed Jewelers has been the most trusted name in jewelry in Central Illinois. We have served generations of families as their jeweler for diamonds, beautiful fine jewelry, custom-made styles and expert jewelry repairs. M. J. Reed Jewelers is committed to making every customer our friend with our personalized service and our innovative jewelry designs. Our years of experience and services have built a legacy of honesty and trust with our customers.
M. J. Reed Jewelers was founded in 1897 by A.E. Wuesteman as A.E. Wuesteman Jewelers. The original storefront was at 14 Main Street in downtown Champaign. In 1930, “Buck” Wallace joined the business, and the name changed to Wuesteman & Wallace.
Milton John Reed bought the jewelry store in 1940. At that point, Mr. Wallace retired to Arizona, but Mr. Wuesteman stayed working for the business he founded for the next five years. It was not until 1949, after Mr. Wuesteman left the business, that the current name of M. J. Reed Jewelers was adopted.
M. J. Reed passed away in 1961, and the family continued the business, led by Ruthann Reed. John M. Reed purchased the store from his family in 1969, and expanded the business. He opened a second store in the Virgin Islands, and bought a diamond mine in Venezuela.
A second Champaign location was opened in 1975 in the brand new Marketplace Mall. Soon after, a third Champaign store was opened on Green Street near the University of Illinois, and the business expanded to Carbondale.
In 1986, John Reed was presented with the Award for Excellence in Diamond Merchandising by the Royal Asscher Company of Amsterdam.
Today, M. J. Reed Jewelers continues to offer its customers the finest service possible from its location in Old Farm Shops, Champaign, and an office in downtown Chicago.